New Vehicle Registration System Effective Very Soon Texas RVers!

Interestingly enough, the Pittsburgh Gazette, has reported that Texas will soon be getting a huge revision on the structure of registration fees. This not only affects vehicles, but also recreational vehicles and more.

So what does this mean for you? Thankfully, the more than 1,700 registration fee categories are now being reduced to just nine classifications by weight which equals a more simpler and standardized registration fee system.  Depending on counties, some will see cost reductions while other may see some fees completely eliminated.

The new vehicle registration system will go into effect September 1st, 2011.  Here are some of the changes that will be taking place:

A fixed fee means you’ll always know what you owe.

Weight classifications make the fees more equitable for everyone because what you pay is based on how much impact your vehicle has on Texas’ roads.

Vehicle dealers can accurately calculate registration fees for customers.

Trucking companies can better determine their own registration costs.

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles will no longer have to spend tax dollars to maintain and program the complex fee structure in its database.

Freeing up resources at our tax offices so representatives have more time to spend with you.

The 30-cent reflectorization fee has been eliminated.

The $5 license plate transfer fee, the fee for transferring your license plate to another vehicle has been eliminated.

The new law standardizes the license plate replacement fee at $6, and does away with the fee for classic, cotton, forestry, volunteer firefighter, tow truck and radio operator license plates.

Camp County residents who own trailers under 6,000 pounds will be pleased to know that the 75 registration fee categories for trailers are reduced to a fixed annual cost of $45. And, this includes travel trailers.

County fees may still vary throughout the state because they are set by our commissioners. In Camp County, vehicle registrants pay a $10 road and bridge fee and a 50-cent safety fee.

“We’re glad to help all of our customers, but we also know most Texans would prefer to handle it themselves,” said Gale Burns, the Camp County tax assessor-collector. “The new, simplified structure is going to help everyone do just that. For those of you who need our in-office assistance, we’re always here for you.” [Pittsburgh Gazette]

The simpler fee structure was passed by the state legislature over two year ago, so this change has been expected. There has not been any base vehicle registration fee changes since 1985.

And if you have a vehicle tow behind your motorhome and full time RV in Texas you’ll also want to know how the new changes affect you!

It may be a good idea to familiarize yourself with the new registration fees so for details about the fee changes, go to  This will be especially helpful if you are planning on purchasing a new or used recreational vehicle. For your best selection, check  out any ExploreUSA RV Super Center.


Share Button